Return to Headlines

Pillars of Parkway selected

3/4/2024 -- Nine individuals have been selected as 2024 Pillars of Parkway. This prestigious award is presented to individuals who have provided extraordinary service to the Parkway community and exceeded expectations.

The Pillar honorees are:

  • Ryan Banta – Teacher, Central High
  • Kevin Bateman – Custodian, Pierremont Elementary
  • Patty Bedborough – Chief Financial Officer, Administration
  • Lois Burch – Nurse, West High
  • Julie Herrmann – Counselor, Henry Elementary
  • Pam Hill – Parent Volunteer, West Area
  • Susan Irby Hawkinson – Elementary Coordinator, The Nines
  • Steven Shane – Parent Volunteer, Central Area
  • Michael Turco – Community Volunteer, South High

What is the Pillar of Parkway award?
Each year, individuals who have made a long-term commitment and provided outstanding leadership and service to Parkway can be nominated to be honored as one of approximately 8 -12 winners selected by a committee of former Pillars of Parkway.

The Pillars of Parkway will be honored at Appreciation Evening on April 15, along with retirees, service award honorees, Teachers of the Year, Light of Parkway and Albert award winners.

Congratulations again to all 39 nominees, including parent volunteers, employees and community members.