Return to Headlines

Two Parkway teachers announced as quarterfinalists for the Music Educator award

Keely O'Hara-AbelnBrian Parrish6/30/2021 -- Two Parkway teachers have been named as quarterfinalists for the Music Educator Award, sponsored by the Recording Academy and GRAMMY Foundation. The Parkway teachers are Keely O'Hara-Abeln, band director at South Middle and Brian Parrish, choir director at West High.

A total of 219 music teachers from 204 cities have been announced as quarterfinalists for the Music Educator Award presented by the Recording Academy® and GRAMMY Museum®. In addition to quarterfinalists, 189 legacy applicants from 2021 will also be eligible to win the award this year.

The Music Educator Award was established to recognize current educators (kindergarten through college, public and private schools) who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools. A joint partnership and presentation of the Recording Academy and GRAMMY Museum, the recipient will be recognized during GRAMMY® Week 2022.

The award is open to current U.S. music teachers, and anyone can nominate a teacher —students, parents, friends, colleagues, community members, school deans, and administrators. Teachers are also able to nominate themselves, and nominated teachers are notified and invited to fill out an application.

Each year, one recipient is selected from 10 finalists and recognized for their remarkable impact on students' lives. The eighth annual honoree will be flown to Los Angeles to attend the 64th Annual GRAMMY Awards® and a range of GRAMMY Week events. The nine additional finalists will receive a $1,000 honorarium, and the schools of all 10 finalists will receive matching grants.

Fifteen semifinalists will receive a $500 honorarium with matching school grants. The matching grants provided to the schools are made possible by the generosity and support of the GRAMMY Museum’s Education Champion Ford Motor Company Fund. In addition, American Choral Directors Association, National Association for Music Education, The NAMM Foundation, and the National Education Association support this program through outreach to their constituencies.

The semifinalists will be announced in September.

For more information, visit