Return to Headlines

Thirty-three Parkway students selected as National Merit Semifinalists

9/15/2021 -- Thirty-three Parkway high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

Approximately 16,000 students nationwide were selected as semifinalists, and 95% will go on to become finalists. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring.

The Parkway students are:

Central High
Daniel Baris
George Harris
Cynthia Hu
Sarah Joseph
Rohit Krishnamurthy
Jeremy Li
Neel Nayak
Samuel Opinsky
Olivia Qian
Inchara Shetty
Fareeha Siddique
Aditya Singh
Ayaan Umar

North High
Sanjana Panwar
Josie Rand

South High
Riley Darrough
Louisa Lehmann
Kevin Potthast

West High
Brinda Ambal
Amanda Clark
Grace Dong
Martin Franciscus
Jackson Gillespie
Connor Gusky
Isaac Judy
Luke Legler
Marissa Liu
Trisha Manna
Paige Matthys-Pearce
Miranoush Nalbandian
Shruti Panda
Noah Withers
Kevin Zheng